The Costa Rica goalkeeper is the reigning CONCACAF Male Player of the Year 2017 (photo:

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) has released the names of the nominees, along with the opening of fan voting for the annual Concacaf Awards, to honor the year’s standout performers and achievements from across Confederation events.

The awards, which began in 2013 and will be presented for the sixth time, recognize players, coaches, and referees at all age levels, who have excelled in Concacaf and FIFA-sanctioned tournaments involving the Confederation’s national teams and clubs.

The Confederation will present the Awards in the following categories-:

• Male Player of the Year
• Female Player of the Year
• Men’s Football Coach of the Year
• Women’s Football Coach of the Year
• Male Referee of the Year
• Female Referee of the Year
• Male Goalkeeper of the Year
• Female Goalkeeper of the Year
• Male Best XI
• Female Best XI
• Goal of the Year

Fan voting opened on Monday, December 10, 2018 and closes on Tuesday, January 8, 2019, at 11:59 PM EST.

Voting for the Concacaf Awards is a thorough process involving key stakeholders from the Confederation. The winners of each category shall be selected by four groups.

These groups include National Team Head Coaches from Concacaf’s 41 Member Associations; National Team Captains from Concacaf’s 41 Member Associations; Experts from media houses selected by Concacaf; and Fans who will be able to vote by visiting the fan voting page on