Premier League Player of the Year winner Kimaree Rogers displays his trophy after copping the award at the inaugural Crystal Awards 2018 on Saturday at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort. (Photo: Rams Village Superstars)

BASSETTERRE, ST. KITTS AND NEVIS – The first annual St. Kitts Nevis Football Association’s Crystal Awards held Saturday night November 17, 2018, at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort has been rated a tremendous success.

The event, an elegant black tie affair, was well supported, as the Grand Ballroom at the Marriott was filled to capacity of football fans, representatives of corporate sponsors, family and well-wishers of nominees and even members of parliament.

Most notably in attendance was President of the Confederation of Central America, North America and the Caribbean Football (Concacaf) Mr. Victor Montagliani, and Trinidad and Tobago Football legend Dwight Yorke, who has won numerous accolades with world renowned Manchester United Football Club in the English Premier League during his playing days.

Mr. Yorke was the featured speaker, who shared his life story, not in a drab feature speech, but in an interview format as conducted by the hosts of the evening’s event.

Mr. Montagliani commended the SKNFA and its president Anthony Johnson for hosting the Crystal Awards and most importantly for the progress the association has been making in developing local football.

He spoke to the new direction of Concacaf under its one Concacaf brand. Mr. Montagliani presented Mr. Johnson with a personalized commemorative jersey and the SKNFA presented a special award to Mr. Montagliani later on during the ceremony.

The winners in this year’s Crystal Awards are:
1. President’s Award: Leslie Morton for his contributions to football through the media
2. Premier League Player of the Year- Kimaree Rogers of Village Superstars.
3. Premier League Coach of the Year- Jeffrey Hazel of Village Superstars.
4. Best Youth Player of the Premier League- Javern Matthew of Conaree
5. Premier League Golden Boot- Carlos Bertie of Cayon
6. Premier League Golden Glove- Zeleon Morton of Village Superstars.
7. Fan of the Year Award – Lecimba Browne of Garden Hotspurs
8. Women’s League Coach of the Year- Tyron O’Loughlin of Cayon
9. Women’s League Player of the Year- Leranja Wilkinson of Newtown
10. Best Female Youth Player- Jasonna Williams of Cayon
11. Women’s League Golden Boot – Caroline Springer of Newtown.
12. Division I League Player of the Year- Jermaine Carey of Tabernacle.
13. Division I League Coach of the Year- Vaughn Patrick of Tabernacle
14. Reserve League Best Player – Everette Ritchen of Garden Hotspurs
15. Reserve League Coach of the Year-Steven Browne of Garden Spurs
16. Keith Gumbs Youth Coach of the year – Kevin Welsh of Newtown
17. Best Youth Coach – Roger Hendricks of St. Thomas Trinity Strikers
18. Best youth player- Jaheem Nisbett of Garden Hotspurs
19. Referee of the Year- Kimbell Ward
20. The Fair Play Award – Rams Village Superstars.
21. Keith Gumbs Youth Player of the Year – Tiquanny Williams of St. Thomas Trinity Strikers.

Dignitaries in attendance include Government Minister Mr. Eugene Hamilton, Leader of the opposition Dr. Denzil Douglas, and MPs Marcela Liburd and Konris Maynard. MP Maynard roll back the hands of time to the days as a calypsonian and performed his iconic “Unstoppable Force” much to the delight of the audience.